First Light

Landscape photographers often feel that nothing can be more exciting than the first peak of sun in the morning as it rises over the horizon. It brings with it an interplay of sky, sun and clouds, adding an emotional appeal to our subject.

I often find myself taking long walks in the dark, in order to be a just the right location to greet the new day, knowing the excitement it brings. Such was the case when I visited Moeraki Boulders, on New Zealand’s South Island east coast a few years ago. Leaving the car park where I had spent the night in my rented RV, I walked the 2km to where the boulders are located. I had scouted the previous afternoon for a spot to setup, so I proceeded to setup the camera, in the dark, with the aid of a flashlight. Once the sun started to rise, I waited for the optimum time; just after the surf had broken over the boulders in the foreground.

NZ1727AA

This also illustrates a technique I use frequently in my photography; that of including a sense of movement, or moment, in the scene. In this case, I knew where the surf would break, and how far up the shore it would come. Then, it was a simple matter of watching the surf, and tripping the cable release at the optimum moment.

Photo Details: Sunrise, Moeraki Boulders, New Zealand. Toyo 45AII camera (4×5), Schneider Symmar-S 135mm f5.6 lens, .6 Split Neutral Density Filter, on Fuji Velvia 50.

About roteague
I’m a landscape photographer, residing on the island of Oahu, Hawaii. I love large format photography, in fact, I love any kind of photography involving film.

One Response to First Light

  1. Kristal says:

    This is absolutely beautiful. Your photography is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

