Blog Banner Image

No doubt, some people have been curious about the image that currently adorns the banner on this blog.

Several years ago, I spent 10 days touring the South Island of New Zealand by RV. One afternoon as I was driving from Aoraki/Mt Cook National Park back to Christchurch, I passed this scene along the shore of Lake Pukaki. I was immediately attracted to the color of the water, as well as the reflections of the distant mountain range off the water. Even though I rarely photograph in the middle of the day, this scene was one that I simply could not be pass by without exposing a sheet of film or two.

NZ1767AA

The distinctive color of the water comes from what is referred to as “glacial flour”, which is extremely fine ground rock particles in the lake. These particles flow to Lake Pukaki from the Tasman and Hooker Glaciers, which adorn the slopes of Aoraki/Mt Cook, the highest mountain in New Zealand.

Photo Details: Lake Pukaki, South Island, New Zealand. Toyo 45AII camera (4×5), Schneider APO Symmar 210mm f5.6 lens, on Fuji Velvia 50.No filtration.

About roteague
I’m a landscape photographer, residing on the island of Oahu, Hawaii. I love large format photography, in fact, I love any kind of photography involving film.

Leave a Reply

